Pasco County Arrest, Court, and Public Records
The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) collates crime data for all the counties in the state. Its most recent crime statistics for Pasco County are for 2017. In that year, the county recorded a total of 10,785 crimes. This represents an 11.6% dip compared to the previous year and a 22.7% reduction compared to the 2013 total.
A breakdown of 2017 crime data for Pasco County shows that there were 1,648 violent crimes and 9,137 property crimes. Aggravated assault was the most prevalent violent crime with 1,202 cases followed by 236 robberies, 204 rapes, and 6 murders. Incidences of property crimes include 1,811 burglaries, 6,631 larcenies, and 695 motor vehicle thefts.
The most recent five-year crime trend for Pasco County shows that aggravated assaultwas the only crime to experience an uptick (20.4%). On the other hand, between 2013 and 2017, murder, rape, and robbery rates fell by 71.4%, 11.3%, and 2.9% respectively. In the same period, burglary rate reduced by 45.4% while larceny and motor vehicle theft rates dipped by 23.4% and 13.7% respectively.
The FDLE offers criminal history background checks for residents of Pasco County. Its Division of Criminal Justice Information Services collates criminal history information from different local law enforcement agencies into a central database. Members of the public can access this database and conduct internet searches for criminal history records. To do so, head to Instant Search page on the FDLE website. You can print or email search results of criminal background information obtained with this tool. The fee for this service is $24 per name and payable by credit card.
The FDLE also provides certified criminal history reports upon request. To obtain one of these, complete the request form on the FDLE SHIELD webpage. The FDLE will search its records and mail a certified background check upon paying the $24 fee for the service. It is also possible to request for a certified criminal history report by mail. Send a completed Florida Criminal History Information Request Form to:
Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Criminal History Services
PO Box 1489
Tallahassee, FL 32302
Include a personal/business check or money order for $24 in your mail request.
The Pasco County Sheriff’s Office provides incident reports for offenses that occur within its jurisdiction (outside the incorporated cities of the county). To obtain copies of these reports, contact the Records Section of the Sheriff’s Office by calling 1-800-854-2862. Reports for incidents that happened within the limits of the cities in Pasco County are available from the police departments serving those municipalities.
Florida law empowers the FDLE to compile information about sex offenders registered in the various counties of the state into one central database. This database is searchable online on the website of the FDLE. Find registered offenders living in Pasco Country via the Sexual Offenders and Predators Search tool provided by FDLE. Search by name or enter zip codes, cities, and street addresses in Pasco County.
The Pasco County Sheriff’s Office operates the county jail. This correctional facility is located at 20101 Central Boulevard, Land O Lakes, FL. Its contact phone number is (813) 996-6982. The Sheriff’s Office provides a regularly updated list of individuals currently incarcerated in the Pasco County Jail. Search the Jail Roster to find individuals currently in custody. For information about visitation and funding inmates’ accounts, contact the jail by phone.
There are two Judicial Centers in Pasco County with each housing a Circuit Court and a County Court. The addresses and contact information for these courts are below:
Robert D. Sumner Judicial Center
38053 Live Oak Avenue
Dade City, FL 33523
Phone: 352-523-2411 ext. 2211
West Pasco Judicial Center
7530 Little Road
PO Box 338
New Port Richey, FL 34656
Phone: 727-847-2411 ext. 2211
The Clerk and Comptroller of Pasco County maintains all court records. Some of these are viewable online while all are available at these two Records Centers:
East Pasco Records Retention Center
Court Records Department
38319 McDonald Street
Dade City, FL 33525
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Jack Albert Records Retention Facility
8902 Government Drive
New Port Richey, FL 34653
(727) 847-2411 Ext. 8838
8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
View case documents online by searching for them using the Court Records Search portal. Available records only go back as far as 1990 while some filings are only available from 2013 to the present. For old and new court records, visit the Record Centers. These facilities also allow members of the public to make copies of court records. While viewing electronic and physical copies of court records is free, there is a $1 per page charge for obtaining copies of court documents. Certified records incur an additional $2 per document.
The Bureau of Vital Statistics of the Florida Department of Health issues certified copies of divorce records for all counties of the state. To obtain one, send a completed Application for Dissolution of Marriage to:
Bureau of Vital Statistics
Attn: Vital Record Section
Post Office Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
Include a check or money order for copy fees. The fee for the first certified copy of a divorce report is $5. Each additional copy of the same record costs $4.
The same fees apply to certified copies of marriage certificates issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics. Download, complete, and mail a completed Application for Marriage Certificate Form to the same address above.
Local Vital Statistics offices in Pasco County issue certified copies of birth and death certificates. To request for one of these, download and complete a Florida Birth Certificate Application or a Pasco County Death Certificate Application. Bring or mail this to any of these locations:
13941 15th St. Rm #212
Dade City, FL 33525
352-521-1450 Option 6
This office opens from Monday to Friday between 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. but closes for lunch between 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
10841 Little Rd.
New Port Richey, FL 34654
727-861-5250 Option 6
Opens from Monday to Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
The fee for the first certified copy of a birth certificate is $12. Each addition copy of the same record ordered alongside costs $8. The fee for a certified copy of a death certificate is $10. Pay with cash, cashier’s check, money order, or credit/debit card when requesting for vital records in person. Mail-in requests are payable in credit/debit cards, money orders, and cashier checks. Make check or money order payable to DOH-Pasco.